All About Technology & Troubleshooting

Solved: error The file is locked for shared use by… (Onedrive)

Some of the users report getting a strange error their one driver for business folder “the file is locked for shared use” and didn’t allow to share or delete files or folders. Mostly this issue happens when the file is opened in the browser or the Office client and users try deleting the file from the OneDrive for Business library at the same time. Also if the file is collaborated and shared on a network and if its open and being used by another user.

If you are getting Cannot delete file in OneDrive for Business “The file is locked for shared use…” while modify or delete files here are some tips to apply.

Check That the File isn’t Already Open

You might have already opened the locked file within your browser or other Office software. To make sure that isn’t the case, close all your browser tabs and then the browser. Then check there are no Office apps or processes listed in Task Manager as follows.

  • Right-click the Windows 10 Start button to open a menu that includes Task Manager.
  • Click Task Manager to open the window shown directly below.
  • Select all Office apps listed on Task Manager’s Processes tab, such as Winword.exe, and press the End Task button to close them.
  • Thereafter, open your browser again, log in to OneDrive for Business (via Office 365 portal) and check if the file is still locked.

Turn Off the Require Check Out Option

  • Check that the Check Out setting isn’t enabled in OneDrive. To do that, open OneDrive for Business in a browser.
  • Click the gear (Settings) button to select Site Settings.
  • Then click Site administration > Site libraries and lists > Customize documents and Versioning settings.
  • Select the No radio button for the Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited option.
  • Then press the OK button.

Adjust the Permissions Level Settings

  • Some users have confirmed that they’ve fixed the “The file is locked for shared use” error by adjusting the permission level settings. First, log in to Office 365 and open OneDrive for Business from there.
  • Click the Settings (gear) button to select Site Settings.
  • Select Site Permissions to open the Permissions tab.
  • Then click Permissions Levels on the Permissions tab, and select the Edit option.
  • Click the Select All check box to select all permissions.
  • Scroll down to and press the Submit button.

Now check there is no more error “the file is locked for shared use” while open or delete the required file in OneDrive for Business. If you have another resolution for fixing locked files in OneDrive, feel free to share it below.

Also read:

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More